Our Quality Assurance Program

Intermech’s robust Quality Assurance Program is centered around an ASME NQA-1 program that was established in the early 1980’s to serve the construction of commercial nuclear power plants.

Personnel Qualifications

The Intermech Quality Assurance staff includes personnel qualified to perform non-destructive examinations per ASNT SNT-TC-1A, as well as Certified Weld Inspectors (CWI) inspections, including visual testing, leak testing, penetrant testing, and ultra-sonic testing. The Program also incorporates procedures to qualify personnel to American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards and American Welding Society (AWS) welding codes.

Codes and Standards

The program is regularly audited by both commercial nuclear customers and operators of government nuclear and chemical weapons decommissioning sites, some of which belong to Nuclear Procurement Issues Committee (NUPIC). The Intermech Quality Assurance Program encompasses the following codes/standards/guides:

  • ASME NQA-1-2008/09a
  • NQA-1-2008/09a and all preceding editions
  • ANSI N45.2 and multiple daughter documents
  • 10 CFR 50 appendix B
  • 10 CFR 830
  • 10 CFR Part 21
  • DOE O 414.1D and all preceding editions
  • DOE G 414.1-3
  • NRC Regulatory Guide 1.28 Rev 4